add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Ryzen 5 3600 or Ryzen 7 2700X?

joaquinatorb
  • 29 days ago

Like the title says. Also this is my first build.

Comments

• 29 days ago
  • 1 point

Gaming or light usage - Ryzen 5 3600

Gaming + Streaming - Ryzen 7 2700X

Workstation - Ryzen 7 2700X

The Ryzen 5 3600 is faster in lightly threaded workloads, the Ryzen 7 2700X is faster in heavily threaded workloads. No clear winner here although if gaming is the main reason for this rig then go with the 3600.

• 24 days ago
  • 1 point

So for a workstation/gaming/streaming hybrid the Ryzen 7 2700X? And If so do you think it's worth price to performance the upgrade to a 3700x? Side note in addition to streaming I currently lean towards NVidia gpus and nvtenc encoding for some games it's a major improvement. So streaming does stream my gpu a bit more than my cpu.

• 29 days ago
  • 1 point

2700X

Better stock cooler

Less variation in end performance

Less expensive

But slightly slower on average unless its core count can be used

Poor stock cooler

Slightly faster low threaded performance on average

Multi threaded performance is hampered by Windows scheduling

Somewhat wide end performance variance

More expensive

Biggest problem with the 3600 is AMD changed how they qualify CPU.

Only a single core is required to qualify unlike older models where all cores are required to qualify, and Windows doesn't generally use that highest boosting core, instead focusing workloads onto an alternating pair with the best/closest latency to speed profile.