add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

having a puppy in an apartment

nostalgia2302

1 month ago

Hey guys!

So I finally live on my own since 2 months ago and I just asked the owner if I can have small dogs in the apartment. I'm seriously considering getting a puppy if she says yes.

Is this a good idea? I'm a student so I don't know if it would mess up my life adding an extra responsibility to my schedule. I work online from home so the only moments I'll be gone is during classes.

What about leaving a puppy alone for too much time? They need more attention and training than let's say 18 month dogs.

Comments

• 1 month ago
  • 9 points

I don't think it's a good idea, houseplant < fish < four leg. I get that you might feel lonely, I get that there's some wing stretching, it's too early in the game. Sorry, I vote bad idea.

• 1 month ago
  • 5 points

Have you thought about maybe getting a snake, they dont require much attention, cheap to feed, and they will lovingly cuddle a rat every cuddle a weeks...

• 1 month ago
  • 4 points

It's a major responsibility that you are seriously underestimating.

• 1 month ago
  • 4 points

The way I see it, is that if you have to ask a computer part forum if getting a puppy is a good idea,

You’re probably not ready to get one.

• 1 month ago
  • 2 points

You just got into your own space two months ago, give it some time. Just do you for awhile. Don't take on a puppy right now. My gf and I just got a puppy and it was a huge change to our lives, and she works from home AND doesn't have to go to classes like you would. Plus they are expensive.