add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

What video card do i upgrade to?

BettaChetta
  • 15 months ago

My current setup is intel i5-7400, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB. without spending more than about 500$ whats the best video card to get? im kinda new to all of this, if you need more info let me know

Comments

• 15 months ago
  • 1 point

Isn't the GTX 1060 3GB enough for 1080p gaming?

Do you play medium settings, ultra settings?

• 14 months ago
  • 1 point

Im not sure exactly what i need to upgrade. i just want to be able to boot up programs and games faster. would i need a better ram or cpu or somthing? thanks for any advice

• 14 months ago
  • 2 points

You could try an m.2. 2280 ssd, preferably one like the Samsung 970 Evo. Very fast drive.

• 14 months ago
  • 2 points

As DrLitch stated below, get a SSD drive.

But an Evo 970 isn't needed really. It cost way more than other SSD drives, and if you insist of getting a fast PCIe NVMe 3.0 x4 drive, just get an Intel 660p. (depending your board)

Loading times would be similar fast and it costs almost half the money!

And if you are on a budget, that's the drive you wanna go with.

https://pcpartpicker.com/products/compare/6YtQzy,TwWfrH/

Both drives have a 5 years warranty if that matters. :)

• 14 months ago
  • 1 point

I bought a 1tb 660p and later i saw a vid that linus did on it which kind of made it seem bad. It was something about it using qlc technology and the cache? filling up will this impact me or is it just in very spesifick situations?

• 14 months ago
  • 1 point