add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

Help! Radeon or GeForce (newbie here)

CaseRaZe
  • 15 months ago

Hey guys, deciding what GPU my first build should use. Well basically I just want some opinions on the cards. I’ve been interested in the XFX RX Radeon 580 bc of price what do you guys suggest for cards?

Comments

• 15 months ago
  • 2 points

Depends a lot on what you are doing gaming title wise, what your desired quality settings are, and at what resolution and frame rates.

The 580 is okay but with how games are moving along graphics wise it's starting to slip from its old 1080p@60fps Ultra settings on everything. So it gets a hard time since you very well are looking at lowered settings and at that point the 570 are a ton cheaper and do the same thing.

If you are looking at higher then 60fps and want higher quality settings or are moving up in resolution I would move up to a GTX 1660ti which offers quite a bit more graphics performance.

The thing to remember is you can always tweak graphics settings to gain frame rates so if you are not a "Has to play at ultra" player the options are way more open.

• 15 months ago
  • 1 point

I definitely see what you're saying, I will probably go with a higher priced/higher quality card. I really want to build this PC to sustain me for a little while as I dig deeper into the PC world.

• 15 months ago
  • 1 point

I can't find any decently priced GSync/Gsync compatible monitors :/

• 15 months ago
  • 2 points

Anything that allows Freesync over Display Port will run with a GTX/RTX card.