add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up authorcheckmark clipboard combo comment delete discord dots drag-handle dropdown-arrow errorfacebook history inbox instagram issuelink lock markup-bbcode markup-html markup-pcpp markup-cyclingbuilder markup-plain-text markup-reddit menu pin radio-button save search settings share star-empty star-full star-half switch successtag twitch twitter user warningwattage weight youtube

AMD or Intel (I'm an Intel guy).. Thinking i9-9900K

dcdansk
  • 13 months ago

I bought an AMD processor years ago (2006) and hated it. I love Intel and bought them ever since.

I'm pretty set on buying an i9-9900k but should I consider other options? I bought a i7-8086K for my personal home build (got a really good deal) and have been very happy with it.

This is for a workstation build to replace my current work computer at the office. I work in finance and run a lot of financial models so this is not for gaming (maybe solitaire once a year). My company gave me the OK to build what I want. The most important part is the CPU, followed by RAM, then some last year EVOs. The issue is that I haven't really used AMD in years.

I mainly run Excel models which have huge limitations and throwing more cores at it virtually does nothing. Trust me, I've tested on everything from Xeon's to this 8086k (running at 5.4ghz) which has been the fastest (marginally). Basically, I've realized that you can buy a 10K computer and it will not run an excel model any faster than a solid 1800 build. That said, I write financial programs/database work that multithread well but just happen to use Excel as my benchmark.

If you've read this far, thank you. Should I consider the Threadripper?